Newcastle United Lineup on Playstation, FIFA 2010


As you all know may know, I am a big time football fan (soccer for the Americans). I am dedicating this post to the huge debacle of a game between Manchester United & Newcastle United on 17/Aug/2010. It was pretty nightmarish to see how overmatched Newcastle was against Sir Alex Ferguson’s machinery that is known as the Red Devils. My favorite team growing up was always Crystal Palace & Liverpool back in the late 80s and early 90s. However, Newcastle is a team that I’ve always liked and root for especially since they are in and out of relegation nowadays. They are such a storied football club also know as the Magpies. They’ve been around since 1892, play in the glorious St. James Park, and has Alan Shearer as one of the most famous and epic strikers in English footballing history. They’ve been down for quite a while now unfortunately as I mentioned before. Call me sentimental, but I like cheering for the underdog except for the NY Yankees in baseball.

Newcastle All Time Leading Scorer

This brings me to a wish list and my manager mode line up for the FIFA 2010 video game that I play from time to time. Uncle asked me to post my starting lineup, so I thought, I might as well blog about it since he’s in England and everything right now as I type.  I will also let you know the represented country for each player.  My formation is a hybrid 4-4-2 (4 defenders, 4 midfielders, & 2 strikers/scorers for those who don’t follow football that much).

Starting Lineup

  • Goal Keeper – Sergio Romero (Argentina)
  • Right Back – Jorge Ciro Fucile (Uruguay)
  • Center Back – Martin Caceres (Uruguay)
  • Center Back – Jerome Boateng (Germany)
  • Left Back – Gareth Bale (Wales)
  • Right Central Defensive Midfielder – Marouane Fellaini (Belgium)
  • Right Winger – Theo Walcott (England)
  • Left Central Midfielder Link – Manuel Fernandes (Portugal)
  • Left Winger – Arjen Robben (Netherlands)
  • Left Forward – Marcelo Moreno (Bolivia)
  • Right Striker – Mario Balotelli (Italy)

Bench Players: Erik Edman (LB, Sweeden), Oguchi Onyewu (CB, USA), Eljero Elia (LWM, Netherlands), Giovani dos Santos (CF, Mexico), Chris Seitz (GK, USA), Danny Simpson (RB, England), Simon Kjaer (CB, Denmark), Danny Guthrie (CM, England), Michael Johnson (CM, England), Kazenga LuaLua (RM, D.R. Congo), Jack Rodwell (CDM, England), Seydou Doumbia (ST, Ivory Coast), Neymar (LF, Brazil)

Here is St. James Park…

Home of Newcastle United

Aerial View

Now if only this was the real squad, then the Newcastle supporters would really have something to look forward to this EPL season.

One thought on “Newcastle United Lineup on Playstation, FIFA 2010

  1. Pingback: Experience Aurie Year In Review: 2010 | Experience Aurie

Leave a Reply

